Moonlands by Steven Savile

25002838

Original Title: Moonlands 

Year Published: 2015

Published by: BadPress

Number of Pages: 279

First Sentence: The wolf pack hit the streets of London howling.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

Fifteen-year-old Ashley has a complicated life. There’s no doubt her overachieving parents love her, but they are wrapped up in their own worlds for so much of the time it leaves her feeling like she’s alone.

Like a lot of teenagers, Ashley dreams of other worlds, but unlike a lot of teenagers her world is about to collapse as rifts to an ancient Fae Kingdom begin to open all around her. With the arrival of a supernatural hit-squad intent on killing her, and an unexpected inheritance, Ashley’s London is about to become a magical and mysterious warzone where the prize is Ashley herself.

Ashley has to find out the secrets of her own life before she is killed. Balancing ancient prophecies, schoolwork and the love of her life is difficult to say the least! Take part of the wonderful world of Moonlands.

My thoughts:

I loved this book so much! It was a really great read. What sullied the experience for me was that I hit a reading slump in the middle of it. Despite that, I really liked the book.

The characters are really nice and diverse, and it was easy to fall in love with several of them. Ashley was a great main character and the few things I had against her were all redeemed by her choices in the end. Atta girl!

Blackwater Blaze, a wolfen (werewolf that is) is sent to kill Ashley. Knowing this, I still loved him. He is the perfect anti-hero at the start and then turns into a proper hero. My kind of boy. He also goes from wanting to kill Ashley to being willing to die for her. What a guy!

The rest of the characters are also easy to like. The bad guys are very easy to dislike. The plot was really enjoyable and easy to follow. The world Savile describes is amazing and in my eyes very unique. I really enjoyed this new fantasy world from the landscape to the different types of races living in it. The first half of the book takes place in London though, which also was really nice, since I do happen to like London as a city and overall enjoy stories taking place there.

The book ends with a cliffhanger that made me want MORE!

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do. I really enjoyed and I do look forward to any sequels.

Leave a Reply

