In the Air Tonight by Lori Handeland (Sisters of the Craft #1)

InTheAirTonightOriginal title: In the Air Tonight
Year published: 2015
Published by: St. Martin’s
Number of pages: 352
First sentence: “Three men with large, hard, dirty hands lifted three infant girls from their cradles.”

 Plot: Four centuries ago, in a small Scottish village, three baby girls escaped the wrath of a witch hunter. Today, one young woman will learn about her secret history, her heart’s destiny, and the sisters she never knew she had…
With her blue-black hair and dark eyes, Raye Larsen has never fit in with the Scandinavian community of New Bergin, Wisconsin. Being adopted is part of the reason she feels like an outsider, but what really sets Raye apart is her ability to see dead people. Everywhere.

She’s learned to keep her visions to herself . . . until she stumbles onto the ghost of a murder victim who needs Raye’s help. Enter Bobby Doucet, a distractingly handsome homicide detective who has been tracking a killer all the way from New Orleans. Could this be the break in his case he’s been looking for all along?

Meanwhile, the deeper Raye gets involved with the case—and with Bobby—the closer she comes to unlocking the mystery of her own origins. What she discovers about herself could destroy everything she knows . . . and everyone she loves. Is finding the truth worth the risk?

 My thoughts: This kind of felt like an episode of Supernatural. I know that sounds like a bad thing right? But it isn’t, not necessarily anyway. I don’t if there are any Supernatural fans reading this but the episode I’m referring to is the one with the ghost in the house who hunts people with like a butcher’s knife? The episode where we first meet the guys with the website. You guys know what I’m talking about right? Anyway, there’s actually a really scary guy with a meat cleaver in this story. At first you get the impression that he is a ghost ‘cause Raye sees ghosts and all that. Turns out he’s just some psycho witch hunter. Yep.

I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Raye being my favorite. Usually it’s the guys but not this time! Raye is a great gal, truly. She’s a kindergarten teacher who’s just trying to live a normal life in a town that’s way too small (if you ask me) all whilst seeing ghosts everywhere. I mean that can’t be easy right? She’s got a really amazing sense of humor (sarcasm, I love it) and she doesn’t let the fact that she’s (kind of) an outsider put her down. An amazing woman, simple as that. Then there’s Bobby, oh Bobby. Not that big a fan of the name Bobby for some reason. But boy am I a fan of this Bobby! Sexy, creole (I think? Spanish, French and Haitian), tormented homicide detective Bobby Doucet. He’s so haunted, and yes I do mean literally. You’ll find out more if you read the book. I don’t want to spoil it. But it’s gonna feel, you have been warned. Still Bobby manages to freakin’ make me swoon. Let’s just say that Raye + Bobby = steamy goodness. Most of the other characters didn’t actually add much to the story. Except maybe the ghosts, mainly Genevieve and Henry. You’ll find out why if you read the book. Which you should.

So yeah. There’s not much more else to say. I mean the story is great. The characters were great. The writing may be a bit off at times but you don’t really notice it. The plot makes up for it. I gave this book 3.5 stars. I really liked it, but I didn’t love it. There’re two more books in this series. Both patiently waiting for me on the Kindle. I’m gonna read those as well and hopefully those will hit home!

In the Air Tonight releases on June 2nd!

Leave a Reply

