The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

8cc59-witchhunterOriginal title: The Witch Hunter
Year published: 2015
Published by: Little Brown Books
Number of pages: 368
First sentence: “I stand at the edge of the crowded square, watching the executioners light the pyres.”

 Plot: Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. When she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to die at the stake. Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can track down the person who laid a deadly curse on him.

As she’s thrust into the world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and all-too-handsome healers, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

(From Goodreads)

 My thoughts: O-M-G I can’t even. *inhales deeply* I am still reeling from this. Hold on, just give me a sec. *bends over and puts hands on knees like I’ve just run a marathon*

I honestly don’t know where to begin. Okay so my first though was that there was no way in hell I was gonna give this five stars. It was a bit slow at first. I mean there’s action kind of right away but I didn’t really get into it, you know? Also there was this language barrier. And there’s nothing wrong with Virginia’s writing what so ever it’s just that this is an ARC and sometimes things are missing. Half of words where missing, everywhere. So I had to guess. It kind of slowed the reading down a bit. BUT I got past it! That’s the most important part.

The plot is amazing! Just when you think you know what’s about to happen next. BAM! It always keeps you on your toes. There are a lot of different magical elements introduced and explained. I for sure thought it was going to end up with me finding out that Elizabeth was a witch, she just didn’t know it. ‘Cause that’s kind of what you expect right? That she’s turn out to be the thing she spent years hunting down. I mean it kind of happens that way but not really. She just makes unexpected friends is all. And boy what friends they are.

To the friends then. Or maybe we’ll start with Elizabeth? She’s a bad ass girl. I really like Elizabeth. She can take care of herself and stands up for what she believes in. Even though what she believes in is entirely wrong *coughs*. Also she’s pretty. And smart. And all things I want to be. Even though I say that she should have said no a while back. Those who’ve read will know what I mean and the rest of you will when you read.

Now the friends. The first one we meet is Caleb. I’m not even gonna talk about Caleb, I’m so mad. Then there’s George. Oh George, you’re so funny. I want you to be my best friend. Moving on to Fifer. I didn’t like Fifer at first. Like, at all. In fact I might have hated Fifer. Until she came around. Then I liked her. I felt that Elizabeth needed a girlfriend after being surrounded by so many boy witch hunters for so long. Nicholas is this really cool wizard whom Elizabeth ends up helping, mostly for her own sake though, at least at first. When I first read the name Nicholas Perevil I thought “hmm this sounds awfully a lot like Nicholas Flamel” so I had some Harry Potter flashbacks there for a moment. Not that I mind that though, a little HP is always nice. Peter is a pirate. Yes you heard right. He’s a reformist pirate. Which means he’s an awesomely funny guy who supports magic. He also embarrasses his son a lot. Which brings us to John. Oh John. I mean there’s always at least one guy I fall for in each book right. At first I thought it was gonna be Caleb in this one. Then George, which might still be a bit true. But it ended up being John. Because damn! He’s just one of those really caring, cute and funny guys you know. Of course he’s a healer so that might explain the caring part. But still. Also he’s very good looking. Aren’t they always? But I was a bit surprised with myself ‘cause usually I fall for the bad boy. John is not a bad boy. He’s everything but a bad boy.

7f9f3-castiel-me-gusta

There’s also the evil Blackwell. He’s just evil, no reason to really get into detail on that one.

The ending had me like:

Book Gif Tag

I loved this book! It is a must read and I can’t wait for the next one! This about sums up my feelings:

cc34b-tumblr_mnor4r6ioi1rkmb8to1_500

8a7ca-tumblr_mgn5zhlyfy1rwuhc7o1_400

4f8cb-lip-bite

The Witch Hunter releases on June 2nd!

Leave a Reply

