Please Don’t Tell My Parents I Blew Up the Moon by Richard Roberts (Please Don’t Tell My Parents #2)

23894295

Original Title: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I Blew Up The Moon

Year Published: 2014

Published by: Curiosity Quills Press (an arc was kindly provided from NetGalley)

Number of Pages: 347

First Sentence: I was in history class when it hit me.

Goodreads Rating: 3/5

Plot:

True, coming back to school after a month spent fighting – and defeating – adult superheroes is a bit of a comedown for the Inscrutable Machine. When offered the chance to skip school in the most dramatic way possible, Penelope Akk can’t resist. With the help of a giant spider and mysterious red goo, she builds a spaceship and flies to Jupiter.

Mutant goats.
Secret human colonies.
A war between three alien races with humanity as the prize.
Robot overlords and evil plots.

Penny and her friends find all this and more on Jupiter’s moons, but what they don’t find are any heroes to save the day.

Fortunately, they have an angry eleven year old and a whole lot of mad science…

My thoughts:

I was not aware that this was book two in a series when I requested it from NetGalley. Had I known, then I wouldn’t have requested it. But ah well. You do kind of need to read the first book to read this book since you will miss a lot of background information if you don’t. Since I hadn’t, this book was slightly hard to get into since there was so much I didn’t know or references that just went over my head.

The plot apparently picks up right after the end of the first book (another minus for me) and we get to tag along as Penny struggles to combine her super villainous activities with school, life in general and hiding it from her superhero parents. It creates some hilarious situations and the plot overall was quite interesting. It was fun to read from a “villains” point of view, although it can definitely be discussed whether they are villains at all.

Do I recommend it? 

Sure, but I suggest you read book number 1 first. Don’t make the same mistake as I did. The book is fast paced and definitely a good book both for children and adults.

Leave a Reply

