Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

CruelBeautyOriginal title: Cruel Beauty
Year published: 2014
Published by: Balzer + Bray/ Harper Collins
Number of pages: 346 + 12
First sentence: “I was raised to marry a monster.”

Plot: Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known that her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom’s mountaintop, nothing is what she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband. Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can’t resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who’s gotten in her way by stealing her heart.

My thoughts: I loved this book! Though I didn’t give it all the stars for some reason. I don’t really know the reason. I think it may have something to do with a certain part in the book where I was like “Woah. Hold up. Weren’t we just over there?” I was so confused that for the last part of the book I was just like “Yeah, yeah just do what we all know needs to happen”. That doesn’t mean I didn’t love the ending, because I did. I SO DID. But I would’ve liked a bit more, you know?

So the characters. Um, where to start? The main character, Nyx, is kind of annoying at times, she’s really mean towards her sister Astraia (I never did get the name right in my head). I mean of course she has a right to be pissed with the shitty card she’s been dealt but still, it’s not Astraia’s fault that their dad is a – pardon the language – fucking asshole. Despite everything Nyx still wants to fight. She could just go to Ignifex’s castle and simply die. But no, she won’t go down without a fight (YOU GO GIRL!). At the castle she learns things she probably never wanted to know and she falls, hard. So Ignifex? Well he’s kind of a douche. I mean of course he his. He’s an evil demon lord who makes deals with people. Right? As always there’s a hell lot more to the story. The thing is, Ignifex himself doesn’t even know the whole story. And what about Shade, the shadow who’s a slave to Ignifex? Well, let’s just say that Nyx is way too nosy not to figure out what’s really going on.

I absolutely loved this retelling and one of my favorite things about it was that the author incorporated Greek mythology into it all. LOVE. So should you guys read it? Um, yes, most definitely. Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite fairytales and I really enjoyed this retelling.

Leave a Reply

