Half Wild by Sally Green (Half Life #2)

img_2651Original Title: Half Wild

Year Published: 2015

Published by: Penguin

Number of Pages: 400

First Sentence: a crossbill calls”

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

After finally meeting his elusive father, Marcus, and receiving the three gifts that confirm him as a full adult witch, Nathan is still on the run. He needs to find his friend Gabriel and rescue Annalise, now a prisoner of the powerful Black witch Mercury. Most of all he needs to learn how to control his Gift – a strange, wild new power that threatens to overwhelm him.

Meanwhile, Soul O’Brien has seized control of the Council of White Witches and is expanding his war against Black witches into Europe. In response, an unprecedented alliance has formed between Black and White witches determined to resist him. Drawn into the rebellion by the enigmatic Black witch Van Dal, Nathan finds himself fighting alongside both old friends and old enemies. But can all the rebels be trusted, or is Nathan walking into a trap?

My thoughts:

I devoured this book. I loved it and in comparison to Half Bad, this one was great from the start. I finished it in no time and loved every single minute of it. This book picks up pretty much where the first one left off, and the overall plot is so interesting and will keep you on the edge of your seat. I will say no more because of spoilers.

Nathan is my little baby boy. I just want to cuddle him and keep him safe from everyone trying to harm him. Not that he needs anyone protecting him. He is a proper badass, but he is also shown to know that what he is doing at times isn’t normal and that he should feel much worse about it than he does (he doesn’t mostly because he is probably suffering from PTSD). We get to see him grow as a person and trying to figure out his new gift which he received during the first book, and I loved seeing his character being developed.

Oh Gabriel. My precious little angel. I don’t really care what happens in the final book as long as Gabriel ends up happy. If not, I will hunt down Sally Green and cry at her. I love how his and Nathan’s relationship is complicated because of Nathan’s insecurities and his beliefs in what he should do and feel. I can gush about Gabriel for hours so I will just end it here.

Annalise can bite me. I didn’t like her in the first book and now I know why. I get why she did what she did, but I still don’t like her. I will say no more. There is an array of very original minor characters that are so interesting to read about and truly give character (hardy har har) to the plot. I would love to see their stories more developed in the final installment of this trilogy.

The one bad thing was the fact that the author had chosen to waste pages on trying to recreate the noise Nathan hears in his head when electronics are nearby. I get why, but it felt a little too much when it was almost 5 whole pages of random letters trying to recreate a noise.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I really do. The two first books in this trilogy are amazing.

Leave a Reply

