A Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard

img_2654

Original Title: A Darkness Strange and Lovely

Year Published: 2014

Published by:  HarperTeen

Number of Pages: 432

First Sentence: When Jie’s letter came in the mail, I was so elated I forgot I had no hand.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

My thoughts:

This was such a good sequel to Something Strange and Lovely. I loved the first book and I adored this one as well. It was the perfect mix of adventure, mystery, suspense and with a dash of romance.

I really like Eleanor. Yes, she has her flaws and there are moments when I just want to shake some sense into her but overall, I really like her. She is dealing with something extremely stressful and I do believe that it would have been unrealistic if she had reacted to it with complete ease.

All the characters from the first book are back in this one. Although some are only mentioned a few times whilst other play bigger parts. All the Spirit-Hunters are back, now living and thriving in Paris. I loved seeing how they were coping with the events that transpired in Philadelphia and also how they handled their new situation. I did get a little mad with Joseph for his behaviour but at the same time it was understandable (read the book and you will know what I mean).

We also get a marvelous new character, Oliver. He is just absolutely fantastic and pretty much made this book for me. It would have been good without him, but is amazing with him. He is sassy, sarcastic and just adorable. You’ll love him too.

The plot then. It was interesting and entertaining, but this time around there were some issues with the pacing. Either something was happening all the time or nothing happened. It sometimes felt like you were being bombarded with things, some even a little over the top. But it is still very entertaining and it’s not a bad thing per se. I still enjoyed this very much and will soon get on to book number three!

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do!

Leave a Reply

